Supporting your Secular Community

It was recently brought up to me that I am supporting the “wrong people” within the Secular Community.  I’d like to take a few minutes to address the incorrectness of this assumption.

First off, there are thousands of Secular Activists, Atheists, Agnostics, etc that put themselves out there for the world to see.  As someone who has her own channel, let me assure you..  This isn’t easy.  Some make it look easier than others.  Some have been doing this a lot longer than I have.  When you put your face, your voice, your words out there and speak your mind, you open yourself up to a world of support, or conversely, criticism.  I have NOTHING but respect for those within the Secular Community who are willing to put themselves in the public eye and stand up for what they believe.

Secondly, I support the people who support me.  I support people I have found to be passionate about their beliefs, who are well spoken, intellectual and honest.  To tell someone they are supporting the “wrong people” in the Community tells me that perhaps we have a different set of ideas and criteria.  It also tells me that, likely, you really don’t know me.

I would never presume to know the mind of another individual so much as to tell them they are wrong in supporting something or someone they believe in.  I encourage everyone to support the people that they connect with or someone who really moves them on a very deep level.

It doesn’t make who I support right, per se, but it makes it right for me, and that is exactly how it should be.

There are many people out there who cannot afford to support someone financially.  That’s okay, too.  Sharing videos, podcasts or blogs that you’ve found and enjoy or have learned something from is another great way to support whomever you choose.  You can do the same by making a suggestion to someone if you think the content is what they might find interesting.

We all learn from sharing knowledge, no matter where it comes from, as long as it’s accurate.  We can also learn from differing opinions.

The point is to find what moves YOU; what speaks to YOU, as an individual.  You’ll find yourself in good company.  Just as I have.

One thought on “Supporting your Secular Community

Leave a Reply

