So, being white is a religion..

Catchy title, isn’t it?  You’re already wanting to call me on that bullshit, aren’t you?

Of course you are.  And you should, because that remark is about as disingenuous as they come.

So, why did I use it?  PLEASE ask me why I did.  No?  I’m going to tell you anyway.

If you follow me, you’re used to seeing me rant and bitch about things I read/see posted when I find it to be inherently ignorant as a thought process.  You also know that I am Native American.

In recent months, I have seen a downward spiral of utter stupidity being posted (no, not JUST on FB) regarding the following (paraphrased so as not to call direct attention to the post that finally broke my silence):

I envy religious people in that they find it easy to transcend themselves.  They quit thinking about them and concentrate elsewhere.  Catholics, Muslims, Pentecostals, Native Americans, Buddhists, etc.  They have their rosaries, postures, speaking in tongues, chanting, playing drums and singing ancient songs, and they are finding transcendence in these.  As an Atheist, I can’t do any of this.  What do you folks do to transcend yourselves?

Yep.  You read that correctly.  I have spent a number of days trying to decide just how to tackle this particular item, which was posted in an Atheist group, again, I will not state where.  I had considered a three part discussion regarding the “atheist transcendence”, the Native American aspect, and also the fact that the question posed was met with ENTIRELY too much homeopathic doctrine by a group of Atheists who should damned well know better.  However, a few days after reading this and discussing it with a few particularly skeptical and intellectual friends, I saw a meme posted on one of my favorite pages that took nearly the exact same stance.  So, to put it bluntly:

MY FUCKING RACE IS NOT A DAMNED RELIGION.

I don’t know who in the blazes started this highly ignorant trend, but stop it.

Stop it right now.

As a multi-tribal individual, I can tell you, without a doubt, that not ALL Natives practice any such generalized form of religion.  Yes, drums and ancient song can, and are, used traditionally.  But this is very much not the case for every single tribe in the United States, and elsewhere, I suspect, though I can only speak for the two tribes of which I have intimate knowledge.  One is spiritually based.  The other, is much more akin to Humanism, and the one which I fully embrace as a human being and member of this planet.

If you truly cannot see the difference between a religion and a race, do humanity a favor, and cease all form of social media.  You are spreading a form of ignorance that CAN cause harm and discontent, much like the religious types do.

Native American people make up just 2% of the population.  Do you have any idea how tiny the percentage of us are Atheist?  Lets just say the number is too small to even assign a percentage to.

When you post things online that compare Natives to religious theologies, in any form, most of you are either forgetting, or blatantly ignoring, the fact that religious people nearly wiped our race off the face of the planet, and when they couldn’t do that, they FORCEFULLY converted us to christianity.

Just like within the Secular Community, we are not automatically equated to intellect, not all Natives are equated to spiritual dogma.

Think before you speak to something you have no knowledge of.

h/t to both Ryan and John for the open discussion

Leave a Reply

